Listen to the Radio

16/08/2013 12:28

As a music producer, there will be times when I will suffer from burnout and run out of new ideas for my next beats. It is natural and it does happen, but that doesn’t mean that you have to like it. As a matter of fact, I hate it whenever I get burned out. This is like the musical equivalent of suffering from writer’s block, except instead of running out of words to write for your article, I’m actually running out of sounds to use for my beats. Boy, I have already lost count of how many times I have suffered from getting burned out.

If any of you music producers out there have ever gone through this kind of phase, then I suggest you try listening to the radio to get some ideas. I’m serious when I say this too because this is exactly what I do whenever my good old brain just refuses to cooperate with me. You might be surprised on some of the stuff that you can pick off from the radio and just how good they are. Hell, I once used a sample of the Paul Anka song “Smoke Gets Into Your Eyes” on one of my beats once and I sure liked how it turned out. It’s too bad that my nephew accidentally deleted it though because it was one of my favorites.

So the next time you ever run out of ideas to use for your beats, just switch on the good ole radio and let the ideas flow into your head.